My Journey as a ... Writer
 
  1.   Did I change the story significantly enough to make the project better?
  2.   How do I maintain Aunt Peg's voice if I do change the language even more?  
  3.   Is Aunt Peg's voice clear
  4.   What else can I do to make this project better?
  5.  Is there anything I can add or get of to make this story more engaging.
  6.   Is my story interesting?
Madeline
11/8/2010 10:10:02 pm

Teri, I really thought your creative non-fiction was very interesting.Telling Aunt Peg's story provides your audience the opportunity to go back in time and be witness to an era that showcases true American patriotism. I remember my own grandmother telling us grandkids how tough it was during WWII. She too talked about war bonds, rations, and how everyone pulled together in a time of need. I do have a few thoughts if that's ok. First, how was Walt able to see the ovens from the concentration camps if he was on KP duty? How was this possible? Did the Army have similar large ovens like Hitler's? Also, what happened to the other man who asked for Aunt Peg's hand in marriage? Did she talk to him after Walt cam home and let him down gently, or did they never speak again? It might be a good idea to touch on this. My next question revolves around Peg's and Walt's reunion. What did it feel like for Aunt Peg to finally be able to kiss Walt after all these years apart from one another. I know you say she knew then that he was the one, but maybe tell the audience how so? Didn't it bother Peg that her mother was right there in the room when Walt kissed her? I think with that being such a private and intimate moment, Peg might have not liked her mother looking on at them. The last thing that might be helpful to your creative non-fiction is one more letter written back to Aunt Peg from Ally. Peg's letter was filled with so much information, it would seem natural for Ally to respond back to her. Ally is only sixteen after all. It seems the letter would warrant some kind of response. It could be a "Whoa" kind of letter, like "Wow, so much information." Sixteen year olds don't normally read this kind of stuff. But I do like the genre of the letter writing. It's similar to the letter writing Peg and the soldiers did during the war. Was this on purpose? If so, I think it was an interesting way to help re create the war time period. I think with a few tweaks, your project can be even better, even though what you have is pretty good already. Good job! I can't wait to see the final piece!

Reply



Leave a Reply.